School Logo


The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum 


The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework is mandatory for all early years providers, maintained schools, non-maintained schools, independent schools, and all providers on the Early Years Register. The EYFS Statutory Framework sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.


The EYFS seeks to provide:

  • quality and consistency in all early years settings, so that every child makes good progress and no child gets left behind;
  • a secure foundation through learning and development opportunities which are planned around the needs and interests of each individual child and are assessed and reviewed regularly;
  • partnership working between practitioners and with parents and/or carers;
  • equality of opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice, ensuring that every child is included and supported.


Four guiding principles should shape practice in early years settings.

These are:

  • every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
  • children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
  • children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers; and
  • children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.


The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities

Learning and Development

There are 7 areas of learning and development in the curriculum:

The seven areas of Learning and Development together make up the skills, knowledge and experiences appropriate for babies and children as they grow, learn and develop.


The areas of development are:

Prime Areas

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Physical Development

Communication and Language


Specific Areas



Expressive Arts and Design

Understanding the World


We are currently developing our curriculum area on the website and soon there will examples of learning for all areas in the Learning Gallery Tab of this website.

To find out more about the EYFS Statutory Framework please click here.